Office of the President

Quinault Tribal Council


Tribal council
Tribal News
current Job openings
Fishing Regulations
Photos by Larry Workman
Admin Phone listing


President: Guy Capoeman
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext. 1329
Vice President: Fawn Sharp
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext. 1331
Treasurer: Larry Ralston
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext. 1348
Latosha Underwood
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext. 2555
1st Councilwoman: Gina James
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext. 4205
2nd Councilmen: Jim Sellers
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext: 2112
3rd Councilmen: John Bryson Jr.
Phone: (360) 276-8211
4th Councilwoman: Noreen Underwood
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext: 8605
5th Councilmen: Donald Waugh
Phone: (360) 276-8211
6th Councilmen: Ryan Hendricks
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext. 2013
7th Councilwomen: Kristeen Mowitch
Phone: (360) 276-8211 ext:2109

Executive Assistant to the Council: Brittany Bryson
E-Mail :
Phone: (360) 276-8211 Ext. 2011

Executive Assistant to the President:
Cynthia Ralston
E-Mail :
Phone: (360) 276-8211 Ext. 2010

Policy Coordinator: Aiyana Underwood
Phone: (360)276-8211 ext:1340

P.O. Box 189
Taholah, Wa. 98587
Phone: 360-276-8211
Toll free: 1-888-616-8211
Fax: 360-276-4191

For thousands of years, the term "Quinault" referred to the people who made their homes within the watershed of the Quinault River. To the north live the Queets, Quileutes, Hohs and Makahs; and to the south lived the Copalis, Humptulips, Wishkah, Chinook, and Chehalis. When people from theses tribes and others moved to the Quinault Reservation they were considered to be members of the Quinault Tribe. Through its Constitution, which evolved over the course of a century, today's Quinault Nation recognizes the multi-tribal heritage of its people. Any individual who can verify at least one - quarter combined heritage from seven tribes (Quinault, Queets, Quileute, Hoh, Chehalis, Cowlitz, and Chinook) is entitled to be a member of the Quinault Nation so long as he or she is not a member of any other tribe. Individuals, who cannot qualify for membership on the basis of this "blood quantum" requirement, can apply for adoption into the Quinault Nation. Thus the term "Quinault" now refers to an individual who identifies with the Quinault Nation.

On August 24, 1922 the Quinault people, for the first time, documented the shape and character of modern Quinault government in the BYLAWS of the Tribal Council of the Indians of the Quinault Indian Reservation. President Harry Shale and Agent W.B. Sam's signed the document into Quinault law. Under these Bylaws, the Quinault Indian Nation established an elective government ruled by the Tribal Council made up of voting members of the Nation and Business Committee made up of a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and seven councilmen (this was changed to 5 by amendment in 1934). Certain legislative powers were placed in the Tribal Council and certain legislative and executive powers were placed in the Business Committee.

Over the next 43 years, the organic document of the Quinault government continued to evolve. The Quinault Tribal Council formally ratified adjustments and amendments to its Bylaws and provided greater definition of the powers vested in Tribal Council and the business committee. President James Jackson and Secretary Frederick Saux Formally signed the new Bylaws on May 22, 1965.





e-mail webmaster
D ALLWEBMENUS CODE FOR menubar ******** -->